What is The Energy Identity Certificate for Buildings?

An Energy Performance Certificate is required for properties when constructed, sold, or let. The Energy Performance Certificate provides details on the property’s energy performance and what you can be made improve it. In Turkish, it is called Enerji Kimlik Belgesi (EKB).

The Energy Identity Certificate is a document that includes information on the minimum energy requirement and energy consumption classification, insulation properties, and efficiency of heating and/or cooling systems of a building. it aims to use energy and energy resources effectively and efficiently, prevent waste of energy and protect the environment.

The Turkish Energy Minister has previously announced that starting from January 2020 it will not be possible to purchase, sell or rent Turkish properties without obtaining a mandatory energy identity certificate for the buildings.

Energy identity is information about energy requirements, energy consumption classification of the building, greenhouse gas emissions level, insulation properties, and efficiency of heating and cooling systems to ensure efficient use of energy resources.

Turkish real estate owners can obtain an identity document by contacting the energy efficiency consulting firms approved by the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources.

For new buildings; Real or legal persons who have completed the training of issuing the certificate of independent consultancy and engineering (SMM) services and energy performance certificate by Union of Chambers of Turkish Engineers and Architects UCTEA related professional chamber are deemed qualified to issue EPC.

Properties are classified from A to G. Class A; and low GEG emission greenhouse (GHG Emission Indicator) emissions, G class wastes energy, and high SEG emissions.


The documents needed are:

  • Architectural project
  • Heat Insulation Project
  • Electric project
  • Mechanical Installation Project (Heating, cooling, ventilation)

The EPC has a validity period of 10 years from the date of issue.

The EPC consists of 7 categories. In the document classified from A to G, A class indicates the most efficient level; G class indicates the lowest efficient level. New buildings must have at least C class EPC.


Join The Discussion

Compare listings